My first real DIY blog I am going to post is the laundry detergent I just made. I got my base recipe from here, after doing quite a bit of research on different combinations. After a while, I realized that they all had the same basic ingredients  this one just had one part I enjoyed more. Though, I did leave one part out. My main reason for deciding to make this, is that I have the time, and it is way less expensive. We’ve been a little low on cash, so anything like this I believe will help. AND, it gives me something to do all day instead of cleaning or running around with the dogs ;)

My plan is to start making a lot of our own supplies like this, and I’m sure this first recipe that I tried won’t be perfect. But hopefully I will be able to grow off of it in the future.

The thing I like best about this so far, and I’ve only done two loads, is how little you use. About 2 Tbsp. of the dry mix, and it really does clean your clothes. The first load I did was my husband’s uniform that he had just worn for a week. It was nasty! The soap didn’t get sudsy, which I expected from reading the comments, but the water was gross. It honestly did just as good of a job as any other detergent I’ve used, and spent way more money on! I will also say this right away; if you can find it, use Zote’s soap. There are other kinds you can use instead, but Zote’s is the best. I suggest keeping an extra bar for pretreating your clothes. I’ve been doing that for a while.

Here’s what I put in my detergent:

2 bars of Zote’s soap, I used the pink one because that’s what I could find. (14.1oz each)

1 box of Borax (4lb 12oz)

1 box of Washing Soda (3lb 7oz)

4 boxes of Baking Soda (1lb each)

1 bottle of Purex Crystals (55oz) (optional)

A large bucket and something to mix with

Almost all of this can be found in the detergent aisle. The only one I couldn’t find at my local grocery store was the Zote’s, but I got it at Home Depot. The Purex Crystals are optional, and just added for the scent. I added the yellow one, but I think next time I will use the purple one. It’s just a personal preference, and I figured I mind as well see which sent I like best mixed with the Zotes. You can also add OxyClean to it, but I didn’t find it was necessary.

Now first off, I am very sorry to not have taken pictures while doing this, and next time I make it I will. But here is what I did, and some tricks on making it.

The hardest part is the soap. I’ve heard you can use a food processor, but I do not have one. Using a cheese grater wasn’t all that bad. I put on some Netflix, and just went at it. Then after grating it, I put it in my small personal blender to make it a bit finer. Now, do NOT just shove a bunch of soap in the blender thinking it will work. It doesn’t. What I found works is putting about a handful of the grated soap, with about 1/4 of a cup of baking soda, and then blending it. Be generous with the baking soda, you have a lot of it. Do small bits at a time, and be careful not to let your blender get too hot. If the blades get too hot, the soap will just melt and stick to them.

The other tip is to try layering your ingredients. Honestly, I did about one layer, then forgot which ingredients I added and stopped doing it. But from everything that I’ve read in comments, people found it a lot easier to mix if you layer it. I on the other hand just made sure I had a bucket with a tight fitting lid. Then I rolled in on the ground, and made my husband shake it up. I then proceded to stir it just a bit more, to make sure everything is mixed.

& that’s it! I filled the Purex bottle, to keep on my shelf, and the rest is in the bucket for when I need it. Again, you only need about 2 Tbsp. per load, which means this should last you a good long time.

I hope you guys like it. & if I wasn’t clear about anything please ask!

